Plachen Blaufränkisch

Vintage

2015

Variety

Blaufränkisch

Description

Intensive purple of a somewhat darker kind, subtle violet rim, powerful viscosity. Distinctive fragrance which leaves no doubt about the supremacy of this Blaufränkisch representative. Wild cherry extravaganza, piment, black tea, zests and cinnamon bark complemented by ripe mandarines and roasted, fresh nuts, fine barrel selection. Dry, densely layered, continuously displaying spicy fruitiness, characteristic and three-dimensional, cool smoke with cloves and cardamom, laurel. Intensively mineral type and pulpy, enormously long finish. Mirrors the assets of the winery´s oldest Blaufränkisch vineyards in a perfect way.

Accompanying ideas

"Waldviertler" dumplings wrapped in Strudel and fried in goose lard, Regina´s delicious " basic gravy" to match ox tail, a medium-rare steak directly from the producer and double-cut - together with a Bouquet salad. Accompanying hard cheese - 4 torque style. Kummelweck filled with pepper salami, with roasted venison liver sausage, chocolate - black pudding pizza, instead of surf to turf. Roast wild boar - form top to tail. And to treat yourself on otherwise boring days. To believe in the good in man.

Ratings

FALSTAFF Rotwein Guide 2019 95 points - ex aequo 5th place Reserve Trophy
A LA CARTE Guide 2019 94 points
Falstaff Guide 2018/19 94 points
A La Carte Wine Guide 2018/19 94 points
VINARIA Guide 2018/19 4 stars + TIPP of the editorial-team
Wein.Pur Guide 2018/19 5 glasses
A la Carte Magazin Blaufränkisch Grand Cru 94 points

Technical specification

Serving temperature 15-17 °C (58-62 °F), decanter and large, high glass - in this order
Harvest Manually into small boxes, from the single vineyard Plachen where we own the only two totally chalk-free Blaufränkisch parcels - loam on weathered silicate, practically no need for selection, beginning of October 2015 with perfect parameters of ripeness.
Processing Destemming, mash fermentation in closed stainless-steel tanks at a temperature of approximately 30 °C (88 °F) for 14 days, followed by 4 more days of maceration, gentle pressing and maturation in 300 l barrels (approximately 40% new).
Bottling June 2017
Alcohol 15,0 Vol.%
Acidity 5,6 g/l
Residual sugar dry
Bottle sizes 0,75l to 3-litres
Deutsche Version

Plachen Blaufränkisch

Jahrgang

2015

Sorte

Blaufränkisch

Beschreibung

Reichlich Purpur, von der etwas dunkleren Art, feiner Lilarand, kräftige Schlierenbildung. Markanter Duftauftritt, der keinen Zweifel an der Souveränität dieses Blaufränkischexponenten lässt. Wildes Kirschspektakel, Piment, schwarzer Tee, Zesten und Zimtrinde, aber auch reife Nektarinen und geröstete, frische Nüsse, feine Holzauswahl. Trocken, dicht gestaffelt und dabei stets von anhaltender Fruchtpikanz, markant und dreidimensional, kühl rauchig mit Nelken und Kardamom, Lorbeer. Deutlich mineralische Art und fleischig, immens langer Abgang. Setzt den Vorteil der ältesten Blaufränkisch-Anlagen des Hauses gekonnt um.

Begleitideen

In Strudelteig gewickelte Waldviertler im Ganslschmalz herausgebacken, Reginas deliziöse "Braune Grundsoße" zum Ochsenschlepp, das Steak medium-rare mit Bauernhofgarantie und großzügig geschnitten - dazu ein Bouquettchen Salat. Zur Hartkäseselektion in der 4-Hauben-Klasse. Pfeffersalami im Kümmelweckerl, zur gerösteten Leberwurst vom Hirschen, Schoko-Blunznpizza, statt Surf zum Turf. Wildschwein - einmal quer durch. Und für Tage, an denen man sich sonst nichts gönnt. Hilft beim Glauben ans Gute.

Auszeichnungen

A LA CARTE Guide 2019 94 Punkte
Falstaff Guide 2018/19 94 Punkte
A La Carte Wine Guide 2018/19 94 Punkte
VINARIA Guide 2018/19 4 stars + TIPP der Redaktion
Wein.Pur Guide 2018/19 5 Gläser
A la Carte Magazin Blaufränkisch Grand Cru 94 Punkte

Technische Daten

Serviertemperatur 15 - 17°C, Karaffe und großes, hohes Glas – in der Reihenfolge
Ernte Handernte in Kleinkisten, von der Einzellage Plachen, wo wir die einzigen zwei Blaufränkisch-Parzellen, ohne jeglichen Kalkanteil haben - Lehm auf Silikatverwitterung, praktisch ohne Notwendigkeit zur Selektion, Anfang Oktober 2015 mit idealen Reifeparametern.
Verarbeitung Rebeln, Maischegärung im geschlossenen Stahltank bei kurzzeitig ca. 30°C über 14 Tage, anschließend 4 weitere Tage Standzeit, schonendes Abpressen und Lagerung in 300l-Fässern (ca. 40% neu).
Abfüllung Juni 2017
Alkohol 15,0 Vol.% Alkohol
Säure 5,6 g/l
Restzucker trocken
Formate 0,75l bis 3-Liter
English version